Note: This article is relevant when end users are viewing courses in the Heropa Library. If the LTI integration is enabled, users will not see the Library and will launch the lab workspace directly from their LMS.
The following conditions must be met in order for a course to be visible in an end user's Library.
- The course must be published. Draft courses can not be seen in the end user view. See: Creating a course.
- Both the course and the end user must belong to the same group. See: Using groups.
- The company the end user belongs to must have access to the course. See: Assigning a Company access to a Course.
Limiting course visibility - an example
The above conditions can be used to limit which courses are visible to an end user. The following scenario outlines how this can be achieved.
Scenario: A set of courses has been created specifically for Partner training. You want for users from partner companies to only see these courses in their end user view.
In Administration / Groups:
- Create a new group called 'Partners'
In Company Detail:
- In the Details tab, move 'Partners' to Selected groups. This will ensure that courses in the Partners group will be shown to users from this company.
In Course Detail:
- In the top panel action menu, select 'Publish' to publish the course
- In the Access tab / Companies section, move the partner companies to Selected companies. This will give users from those companies access to the course.
- In the Access tab / Groups section, move 'Partners' to Selected groups. This will ensure that only companies in the Partners group see this course in their end user Library.
Note: If an end user is removed from a group, the will no longer see the course in their Library. Furthermore, if company access to a course is removed, end users from that company will no longer see the course in their Library, even if their group membership indicates they should.
The Courses List screen contains a list of courses. To see the order in which these courses will be displayed in the end user view, make the Order column visible.
Courses can be re-ordered by selecting the number in the Order column for a course and dragging it to the desired order in the list.